On the road

In July my girlfriend and I will be quitting our jobs, packing everything we need into a truck, and heading out on the road. My family keeps asking me, “What’s your plan? Where are you going to live? What will you do for work?” The simple answer to all of it is, “I don’t know.”  But I guess that’s not entirely true. We think we’re going to commit to traveling for two months. And basically we want to live simply, cheaply, and do the things we love.

We talked about the idea of heading out to Smith Rock in Oregon to start. Smith Rock is the birthplace of sport climbing in the US. And the cities of Eugene and Portland aren’t too far, which I think would be pretty cool places to be for a bit. After that we’d make our way back east. Wyoming, Utah, and Colorado are all really appealing to us. Between the climbing, hiking, and beautiful landscapes, how can we go wrong?

This fall I’d like to thru-hike the Long Trail in Vermont. It’s 272 miles long and passes over some of the New England 4,000 footers that I have left. And then after that? Who knows? Maybe working in a mountain town, getting as many days on snow as I can.

All I know for sure right now is that there are endless opportunities for us. And I couldn’t be more excited.

Posted on April 28, 2011, in Camping, Climbing, Hiking, Simplifying, Snowboarding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

